Singer-songwriter Walker Montgomery will release his debut EP, Simple Town, on Friday (Oct. 19), but The Boot's readers can get an exclusive first listen to the project ahead of time. Press play below to hear the full five-song project.

Produced by Noah Gordon and country rapper Colt Ford, Montgomery's Simple Town EP features songs co-written by Kenny Beard ("Burnin' 18"), Devin Dawson ("You Heard It Here First") and Randy Montana ("Just a Truck"). Montgomery wrote the project's fourth song, its title track, by himself.

“This is country music, and we sing songs about real life. If you can tap into somebody’s heart … chances are they’ll like your music," Montgomery says. "I want my songs to have honest lyrics, and when I feel like a message hits me and is relatable to me, that’s what I’m looking for: something that hits you right in the heart.”

Montgomery says his EP's opening track, "Just Say When," does just that: "It has a message that everyone can relate to because most people have been in that situation at one time or another -- that feeling when you know something is bad for you but you still can’t resist it,” he explains.

The son of John Michael Montgomery and nephew of Eddie Montgomery from Montgomery Gentry, Walker Montgomery's parents never forced music on him, opting instead to let him try sports, acting and music, in addition to his schooling, and decide what he liked best. "School and sports really dominated my life until about the eighth grade," Montgomery recalls. "I started listening to Big Band music, and lots more old country from the legends, and that’s when I started singing and realized ‘I’m not terrible at this.'"

While Montgomery's musical favorites include everyone from Frank Sinatra to Elvis Presley to Waylon Jennings, he says his two main influences are Randy Travis and Luke Bryan. "Listening to those artists have really influenced the way that I sing," Montgomery shares.

"I’m a sucker for love songs, so I love my dad’s music, too," he adds. "Nineties love songs, it just doesn’t get any better than that!”

Fans can visit to learn more about the artist.

Walker Montgomery, Simple Town EP Track Listing:

1. "Just Say When" -- Ross Lipsey, Houston Phillips, Taylor Phillips and Matt Roy
2. "Burnin' 18" -- Kenny Beard, Brock Berryhill and Collin Gregory Nash
3. "You Heard It Here First" -- Devin Dawson,Kyle Fishman and Jordan Walker
4. "Simple Town" -- Walker Montgomery
5. "Just a Truck" -- Houston Phillips, Randy Montana, Neil Medley

Listen to Walker Montgomery's Simple Town EP

More From 97.5 KGKL