Trinidad Aguirre filed his candidacy today in the May 6 special election for the City Council’s District 1 seat.


Aguirre is the first candidate to file his candidacy to fill the final two years of an unexpired term in the seat. Candidate filings will continue through March 27.

Candidate packets can be downloaded at Physical copies are available in the City Clerk’s office in Room 210 on the second floor of City Hall, 72 W. College Ave. The office is open weekdays 8 a.m.-noon and 1 p.m.-5 p.m. Candidates file the necessary paperwork in the City Clerk’s office. Questions can be addressed to City Clerk Bryan Kendrick at 325-657-4405 or at

Also on May 6, voters will elect a mayor and representatives in the District 2, 4 and 6 seats. The winners of those races will serve four-year terms. The who previously filed their candidacies for those seats are:

         Mayor – Tony Villarreal, Brenda Gunter, Charlotte Farmer, Zach Taylor.

  • District 2 – Tom Thompson.
  • District 4 – Lucy Gonzales, Chris Giroux.
  • District 6 – Steve Hampton, Rebekah Coffman, Billie F. DeWitt.

 Voters can look at a map of the City Council districts at Determining which district one lives in can be determined by clicking the GIS map viewer on the same page.

Voters must be registered to vote by April 7 to vote in the May 6 election. Voter registration information can be found at; in the Tom Green County Election/Voter Registration Office on the first floor of the Edd B. Keyes Building, 113 W. Beauregard Ave.; and at all three Tom Green County library locations.

More From 97.5 KGKL