Nearly 90 Angelo State University faculty and staff members, including 12 with a quarter century or more employment with the university, were honored with Service Awards during ceremonies on Thursday, Jan. 26, in the Houston Harte University Center on the ASU campus.


The honorees were each presented with awards representing their years of service to the university. Receiving a 40-Year Service Award was Harvey D. Johnson, Mathematics.

Receiving 35-Year Service Awards were Shirley M. Eoff, Honors Program; Adelina C. Morales, Office of the President; Sangeeta Singg, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work; and Candy M. Woodul, Accounts Payable.

An award for 30 years of service went to Elaine M. Beach, Information Technology.

Recipients of 25-Year Service Awards were Connie Brown, Accounts Payable; Vincent P. Osmanski, Nursing; Kathleen M. Price, Kinesiology; Dallas A. Swafford, Student Disability Services; Sharynn Tomlin, College of Business; and Angelina W. Wright, Finance and Administration.

The 20-Year Service Awards went to James N. Forbes, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work; Maurice G. Fortin, Library; Douglas W. Fox, Information Technology; Ernest C. Guevara, Facilities Management; Mark A. Hirt, Information Technology; Linda A. Kornasky, English and Modern Languages; Donna L. Rathbone, Mail Services (retired); and Sharon F. Weber, Library.

Recipients of 15-Year Service Awards were Margaret C. Alexander, Library; Loren K. Ammerman, Biology; Dionne T. Bailey, Mathematics; Shonda L. Brooks, Payroll Services; Karen Cody, English and Modern Languages; Mark B. Crouch, Computer Science; Brandy L. Hawkins, Office of Accountability; Janet L. Maxwell, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Adam C. Mirike, Facilities Management; Lee E. Morris, Facilities Management; Michelle A. Norris, Scholarship Programs; Jeffrey L. Riels, Information Technology; Micheal W. Salisbury, Agriculture; Jana T. Sparks, College of Graduate Studies and Research; Jennifer A. Stephens, Accounting, Economics and Finance; Jolene M. Varela, Facilities Management; and Antonella S. Ward, Library.

The 10-Year Service Awards were presented to Elva Aguilar, International Studies; Jason S. Brown, College of Business; Doyle D. Carter, Community Engagement; Bruce H. Flage, Materials Management; Thomas G. Nurre Jr., Communications and Marketing; Vara O’Neal, Facilities Planning and Construction; Judy G. Polunsky, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management; Ronald G. Pumphrey, History; Peggy H. Rosser, Small Business Development Center; Gregory D. Schkade, Facilities Management; Ronnie L. Scott, English and Modern Languages; Raymond T. Simmons, Facilities Management; Shannon L. Sturm, West Texas Collection; Candice B. Upton, Carr Foundation; Christina M. Whetsel, Athletics; James J. Womack, Visual and Performing Arts; and Meagan D. Word, College of Education.

Recipients of Five-Year Service Awards were Felicia Armstrong, Nursing; Gary A. Baker, Accounting, Economics and Finance; Walter M. Baranowski, Nursing; Jessica Behringer, Admissions; Stacy D. Bryan, Admissions; Ella K. Burnett, Teacher Education; Michael J. Burnett, Visual and Performing Arts; Michael S. Burt, Biology; Anthony N. Celso, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; Douglas D. Craddick, Facilities Maintenance; Jeffrey D. Dailey, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; Brook R. Dickison, Curriculum and Instruction; James W. Dickison, Agriculture; Ervin L. Halfmann, Print Shop; Dinah J. Harriger, Nursing; Tara M. Hart, Admissions; Janice M. Hock, Library; Brandon S. Ireton, Athletic Communications; and James Leavelle, Small Business Development Center.

Also receiving Five-Year Service Awards were Melissa R. McDowell, Nursing; Gabrielle V. Miller, Communications and Marketing; Nicholas J. Negovetich, Biology; Kevin L. Owens, Housing and Residential Programs; Sandra K. Pate, Management and Marketing; Robert M. Pullin, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; Elizabeth N. Randell, Sponsored Projects; Justice Salgado, Archer College of Health and Human Services; Kelsey R. Samsel, College of Business; Rebecca A. Schkade, Information Technology; Erika L. Scobel, Human Resources; William A. Taylor, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; William W. Wagner, Athletics; Kanisorn Wongsrichanalai, History; and Manuel F. Zamora, Security Studies and Criminal Justice.

More From 97.5 KGKL