The largest number of State and Federal legislators and industry experts to date are confirmed to participate in the West Texas Legislative Summit August 5-7.  As attendees gather to explore the topic “Energy in West Texas,” these speakers will share information about the opportunities and challenges related to the energy surge in our region.
The San Angelo Chamber of Commerce and State Representative Drew Darby will once again host the Summit, which has been expanded to a day-and-a-half format in order to fully explore the topic, and an energy trade show has also been added.

The Legislative Summit and Energy Expo will be held at the McNease Convention Center, 500 Rio Concho Drive in San Angelo, Texas.  The conference agenda is as follows, with the Energy Expo running throughout all sessions:

Tuesday, August 5, 2014 5:00 – 7:00 p.m. Opening reception for Energy Expo exhibitors, Summit attendees, Legislators, Speakers 7:00 – 9:00 p.m. Dinner with the Legislators at Fort Concho (ticket required)

Wednesday, August 6, 2014 8:00 a.m.  West Texas Legislative Summit Begins (ticket required) 6:00 p.m.  Cocktail Reception & Dinner with the Legislators at ASU C.J. Davidson Center (ticket     required)
Scheduled Speakers & Panelists for Wednesday Session:
Tom Williams, Environmentally Friendly Drilling Systems
State Representative Tryon Lewis, District 81
Steve Hagle, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Luke Legate, Statewide Joint Assoc. Oil & Gas Education Initiative
Mike Nasi, Environmental Issues & Legislative Affairs, Jackson Walker LLP
Texas Railroad Commissioner David Porter
State Representative Drew Darby, District 72
State Representative Lyle Larson, District 122
Texas Railroad Commissioner Christi Craddick
Cal Cooper, Apache Corporation
Kathleen Jackson, Texas Water Development Board
David Reible, Engineering Chair, Texas Tech University
Tim Dove, CEO, Pioneer Natural Resources, Inc.
State Representative Larry Phillips, District 62
Elizabeth Grindstaff, Texas Pacifico Railroad
Deb Mamula, Texas Oil & Gas Association
Major Chris Nordloh, Texas Department of Public Safety
Lt. Gen. Joe Weber, Texas Department of Transportation
State Representative John Frullo, District 84
State Representative John Otto, District 18
State Representative Charles Perry, District 83
State Representative John Raney, District 14
State Representative John Zerwas, District 28
Ben Shepperd, Permian Basin Petroleum Association Legislative Panel

Thursday, August 7, 2014 8:00 a.m.   West Texas Legislative Summit Reconvenes (ticket required) 12:00 noon.  Closing Luncheon with keynote speaker U.S. Congressman Mike Conaway.
Scheduled Speakers & Panelists for Thursday Session:
Chancellor John Sharp – Texas A&M University System
State Representative Susan King, District 71
Christie Dyer, Glasscock County Emergency Services
Bradley Robinson, Midland Memorial Wound Management
Danny Updike, Concho Valley Regional Advisory Council
Mike Buck, Concho Valley Workforce Development Board
Steve Floyd, Tom Green County Judge
Larry Isom, Reagan County Judge
Merle Taylor, Snyder City Manager
Congressman Mike Conaway

The registration deadline for attendance to the Legislative Summit or to secure an exhibit booth at the Energy Expo is this Friday, July 31st.  For more information, contact the San Angelo Chamber of Commerce at 325-655-4136 or register online at (West Texas Legislative Summit link).