Thirty Angelo State University students have been awarded $1,000 ASU Student Endowment Scholarships for the summer 2014 and fall 2014 semesters.
The scholarships are based on scholastic achievement, campus and community involvement and leadership, and financial need.  The Student Endowment Committee reviews student applications and awards the scholarships. Students who receive the fall awards also will receive the scholarships for the spring 2015 semester, if they are enrolled and qualify academically.

Students receiving the scholarships, listed with their hometowns, classifications and academic majors, are Natalie Alvarez, El Paso, junior, pre-nursing; Richard Amoateng, Dublin, Ireland, junior, biology; Lea Barilleaux, Bridge, La., graduate/master’s, industrial-organizational psychology; Cheyenne Bone, Weatherford, junior, animal science; Alexander Bryant, Abilene, senior, studio art; Jared Capps, Eden, senior, education.

Also, Ivan Chavez, Big Lake, graduate/master’s, homeland security; Adam Coffman, Rotan, sophomore, music; Ronald Coulter, Fort Worth, freshman, political science; Katlynn Cox, Springtown, senior, education; Codi Foster, Haskell, senior, mathematics; Justin Gartman, Robert Lee, sophomore, interdisciplinary studies; Brianna Gathright, Abilene, junior, exercise science.

Others are Zachary Glass, San Angelo, junior, integrated business/accounting; Cody Harrelson, Crane, sophomore, integrated agribusiness/business administration; Sayde Hirt, Wall, junior, education; Cheyenne Jackson, Eden, junior, marketing; Michaela Johnson, Austin, freshman, pre-nursing; Dylan Littlejohn, Godley, senior, nursing; Katelyn MacLeay, San Antonio, senior, biology; Donald Moore, Grapevine, senior, political science.

Also, Lacy Neuwirth, San Angelo, junior, English; John O’Neal, Sweetwater, graduate/master’s, counseling psychology; Mattie Price, Salado, junior, biology; Rachel Riggs, De Leon, junior, communication; Tabitha Rivera, San Angelo, senior, education; Maria Suarez, Bertram, senior, international business; Kailyn Troxell, Pampa, senior, kinesiology; Kelcee Widdess, San Angelo, senior, chemistry; and Brianne Wilburn, Sweetwater, graduate/master’s, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration.

The scholarships are open to full-time returning ASU students enrolled in regular academic classes or internships. The overall grade point average (GPA) for this year’s 30 recipients is 3.91 on a 4.0 scale, with eight having a 4.0 cumulative GPA.

The Student Endowment Committee is chaired by Dr. Bradley Petty, executive director of student affairs, and includes Dr. Alaric Williams, faculty representative; Crystal Braden, staff representative; and Preston Wimberly, student representative. The scholarship fund was set up in 2000 after an ASU Student Senate referendum passed to fund the scholarship with now-discontinued student fees until it reached a target balance of $500,000, which the committee strives to maintain. Scholarships have been awarded since the spring 2004 semester.