Yesterday, June 8th, Governor Greg Abbott officially designating Midwestern State University (MSU Texas) as a member of the Texas Tech University System, effective Sept.1, 2021.

MSU Texas Board Chairman Caven Crosnoe stated “Today marks another historic milestone for Midwestern State University as we prepare to officially become the fifth member institution of the Texas Tech University System. We are grateful for the work of all those who have served this great university through the years to lead MSU Texas to its current level of recognition and excellence.

Adding MSU Texas to the TTU System will make it their fifth component university in its 25-year history. Current component institutions of the TTU System include Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University which joined in 2007 and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso which was established in 2013. MSU Texas will officially become a member institution of the TTU System at the start of the fiscal year 2022.

J. Michael Lewis, chairman of the TTU System Board of Regents said “The Texas Tech University System Board of Regents is excited to bring Midwestern State University aboard as our fifth member institution. MSU Texas has a sterling reputation in our state and will bring great value to our system and universities.

To bring you up to date, the TTU System collectively has approximately 57,000 students, 21 academic locations in 18 cities,16 of which are in Texas and 2 internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion. Currently MSU Texas has an enrollment of around 6,000 students.

For more information, click here.

97.5 KGKL logo
Get our free mobile app

What Are the Signature Drinks From Every State?


More From 97.5 KGKL