In the spring of 2019, Tanya Tucker began sharing plans for a new studio album -- her first new music in 17 years. The iconic country singer revealed that she had some high-power help for the project, called While I'm Livin', in the form of co-producers Shooter Jennings and Brandi Carlile.

On June 5, Tucker dropped the first new song off the project, "The Wheels of Laredo," ahead of the full album's release later in the summer. Not only was the track co-produced by Carlile, but the singer-songwriter also co-wrote the song and provides backing harmonies, making the new music a true collaboration between artists. The forthcoming album is largely comprised of songs that Carlile wrote with her bandmates Tim and Phil Hanseroth, as well as Tucker.

Ahead of the new record's release, read on to learn everything we know so far about While I'm Livin'. 

The Title

In February, Tucker announced that the title of her new album will be While I'm Livin'. 

The Release Date

While I'm Livin' is slotted for release on Aug. 23, 2019. It will be Tucker's first new music in 17 years, since her 2002 album Tanya.

The Record Label

Tucker's project will come out via Fantasy Records.

The Producer

While I'm Livin' was co-produced by Shooter Jennings and Brandi Carlile, though at its outset, only Jennings was planning to be a producer. After a conversation with Carlile about her in-depth knowledge of and love for Tucker's music, however, Jennings insisted that she join him.

"Shooter called me for songs originally, and I went off [on a rant]," Carlile explained at the time. "I was like, 'I was f--king seven the first time I sang "San Antonio Stroll." I was eight when I sang "What's Your Mama's Name, Child?" And then I went into "Delta Dawn," "Two Sparrows in a Hurricane," "Strong Enough to Bend," "Last Teardrop.' My Tanya thing is, like, real.' And he was like, 'Oh, you're a real fan ... No, I don't have any business getting near this thing without you.'"

In addition to producing the album, Carlile is simultaneously executive producing a new documentary, also about Tucker, called Delta Dawn Then and Now: The Return of Tanya Tucker.

The Album Cover

Fantasy Records
Fantasy Records

The cover of Tucker's new album depicts a woman astride a rearing horse, the waves of an ocean gently cresting on the beach behind them. The artist's name and album title are in white in the center of the image.

The Single

The first single off of Tucker's new project is "Hard Luck," the album's seventh track. John C. “Pete” Bailey, David Lee Mitchell, Raymond L. Turner and Jerry Ontiberoz co-wrote the song.

The Songs

While I'm Livin' features a total of 10 tracks, seven of which were co-written by Carlile. Even the songs that Tucker didn't have a hand in writing speak to aspects of her life and personal history, however.

"It's a musical biography of sorts about Tanya's real life and the places she's seen," Carlile explains. "And it's narrated by the greatest  country and western singer this side of Johnny Cash."

Tucker released "The Wheels of Laredo" as a first taste of her new music. The project also features a small selection of covers, the most eye-catching of which is Tucker's rendition of "The House That Built Me," which was originally recorded by Miranda Lambert.

Tanya Tucker, While I'm Livin' Tracklist 

1. "Mustang Ridge" (written by Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth and Phil Hanseroth)
2. "The Wheels of Laredo" (written by Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth and Phil Hanseroth)
3. "I Don't Owe You Anything" (written by Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth and Phil Hanseroth)
4. "The Day My Heart Goes Still" (written by Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth and Phil Hanseroth)
5. "High Ridin' Heroes" (written by David Lynn Jones)
6. "The House That Built Me" (written by Tom Douglas and Allen Shamblin)
7. "Hard Luck" (written by John C. “Pete” Bailey, David Lee Mitchell, Raymond L. Turner and Jerry Ontiberoz)
8. "Rich" (written by Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth and Phil Hanseroth)
9. "Seminole Wind Calling" (written by Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth and Phil Hanseroth)
10. "Bring My Flowers Now" (written by Tanya Tucker, Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth and Phil Hanseroth)

The Tour

Tucker hasn't announced any official tour details yet, but she will celebrate While I'm Livin' with a series of album release shows. The first show will take place on Aug. 22 at Nashville's Exit/In, and the second show will follow on Sept. 17 at New York City's Bowery Ballroom. On Oct. 16, Tucker will perform at the Troubadour in Los Angeles, Calif.

Who Else is Releasing New Music in 2019?

More From 97.5 KGKL