Twenty-six Angelo State University employees have been nominated for the 2013-14 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding ASU faculty, staff and administrators.
Recipients of the Rodgers Distinguished Faculty, Distinguished Staff and Distinguished Administrator Awards will be announced by ASU President Brian J. May during an assembly at 9 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 21, in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center.

Faculty nominees are Dr. Susana Badiola, associate professor of philosophy; Jennifer Braziel, assistant clinical professor of nursing; Dr. Kristi Cordell-McNulty, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. David Dewar, associate professor of history; Dr. Michael Dixon, associate professor of biology; Dr. Crystal Kreitler, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. Pamela Lee, professor of music and director of choral activities; Dr. Sandra Pate, assistant professor of management; Dr. Christine Purkiss, associate professor of teacher education; Dr. Marva Solomon, assistant professor of teacher education; and Dr. Ned Strenth, professor of biology.

Staff nominees are Adra Enos, career development assistant; Amanda Gibson, secretary, Department of Nursing; Dr. Flor Madero, assistant professor of communication, nominated for her previous role on staff at the Multicultural Center; and Rebecca Schkade, learning technology support specialist, Information Technology.

Administrator nominees are Dr. Maurice Fortin, executive director of library services; Joe Muñoz, senior executive assistant to the president/assistant to the president for multicultural initiatives; Jeane Irby, director of strategic planning and assistant to the chief information officer; Brenda Stewart, degree audit and curriculum coordinator, Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Brian Braden, executive director of Information Technology; Randy Hall, interim chair of the Department of Visual and Performing Arts; Dr. Leslie Mayrand, dean of the College of Health and Human Services; Dr. John Miazga, dean of the College of Education; Dr. Laurence Musgrove, chair of the Department of English and Modern Languages; and Dr. James Summerlin, chair of the Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards were created by San Angelo native and former Angelo State student Gary Rodgers and his wife, Pat. Thanks to their association with many ASU employees over the years, the couple recognized the roles that faculty, staff and

Administrators perform to help ASU fulfill its mission to prepare students to be responsible and productive citizens. The couple established the awards and provided the $2,500 honorarium for each recipient.

“The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards provide ASU with an opportunity to identify our exceptional employees,” said Jamie Akin, executive director of development and alumni relations. “As a result of their generosity, a legacy of acknowledging our outstanding faculty, staff and administrators has been established.”

The winner of the Distinguished Administrator Award is chosen by an ad hoc committee of the ASU Faculty Senate and Staff Senate. The faculty and staff award winners are chosen by the ASU Student Government Association.