Come on, guys. This hoax circulated a few years back. It's NOT true. It doesn't matter what you copy and paste on a status update, it won't change your privacy settings.

When you signed up for a Facebook account, you know that little box you check indicating you read the terms and policies? Ya know, the one we all lie about? Well, that is where this rumor is addressed. You can read the full one here if you want. 

However, if you want me to save you some time, just follow me for a second.

When you checked the above discussed box, you gave Facebook permission to use whatever you chose to post. You still own everything, Facebook has (and this is from ABC News in 2012), 'permission to use, distribute, and share things that you post, subject to the terms and applicable privacy settings," -- This is coming to you directly from Andrew Noyes, a Facebook spokesperson.  You can even double check this on Snopes. 

Basically, it boils down to this:

  • You control your Facebook privacy settings
  • Once you put ANYTHING on the internet, other people can do whatever they want with it. Facebook has no control over that.
  • If there is anything you DO NOT want people to see/have of yours, don't post it.

Don't fall for this again!