Angelo State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) national honor society inducted its spring 2014 class of 67 students during a special initiation ceremony Tuesday, April 15, in the Houston Harte University Center, 1910 Rosemont Drive.
PKP is the one of the nation’s most prestigious academic honor societies for students in all academic fields.  Invitations to join PKP are extended to juniors in the top 7.5 percent of their class and to seniors and graduate students in the top 10 percent of their class.  ASU received its charter for a local chapter last spring.

ASU’s spring 2014 inductees, by hometown, are:

Abilene: Nikima D. Stewart

Alamo Heights: Laura E. Payne

Allen: Blair Turner

Alpharetta, Ga.: Maria Power

Austin: B.J. Garrett and Hayleyesus Gulilat

Boerne: Corey R. Haas

Broadway: Michael G. Fisher

Bullard: Ashleigh B. Lewis

Carrollton: Michelle Hamilton

Cedar Hill: Michael C. Wylie

Chester: Mary P. Jones

Columbia, S.C.: James A. Cirillo

Cottonwood Shores: Lindsey Todesco

Janet Rivera

Del Rio: Max I. Galvan

Del Valle: Sam N. Bell

Denton: Arissa C. Gaytan and Raul M. Ordaz

Doss: Nicholas A. Alejandro

Early: Ta’ah D. Loven

El Paso: Rachel K. Pyle

Georgetown: Christopher J. Schmidt

Happy: Kaitlyn McCarley

Kerrville: Michelle W. Howard, Beverly Thornton and Corley C. Pruneda

Kingsland: Emmanuel Rubio Perez

Kingwood: Sherry D. Mauney

Lubbock: Janae J. Hatchett

Lynn Haven, Fla.: Sharon K. Westfall-Loomis

McKinney: John Cisar

Midland: Maria D. Dominguez

Mineral Wells: William D. Baker and Sarah V. Durst

Newark, N.J.: Alexander J. Schraut

Ozona: Daniel Cruz and Duncan M. Knox

Pflugerville: Paul L. Pennington

San Angelo: Richard P. Amoateng, Caitlin A. Bruns, Gregory Cook, Jeffery N. Cuddington, Adam Czajkowski, Angelita Fraga, Ashlie M. Francis, Brianna M. Gathright, Alyssa P. Giles, Sally A.D. Hagen, Maria Hagland, Laura E. Hardin, Tambra R. Hollway, Chelsea Howard, Cary S. Keys, Terrill A. McKissick, Heidi S. Moyer, Edward Navarro, Christopher Norci, Elizabeth J. Proctor, Walter P. Reed, Tabitha A. Rivera, Nicole K. Stevens, Maria De Rosario Suarez, Suzanna C. Tolboom and Ethan W. West

San Antonio: Mallory D. Barakat

Sweetwater: John M. O’Neal

Westbrook: Shannon L. Clemmer

Wichita, Kan.: Abigail D. Adams

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society encompassing all academic disciplines.  Phi Kappa Phi is considered one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies along with Phi Beta Kappa, which recognizes majors in the arts and sciences, and Sigma Xi, which honors majors in the sciences.

For more information, contact Adria Battaglia, assistant professor of communication, at 325-942-2031.