Angelo State University’s Nursing Honor Society will add 22 new members during an induction ceremony on Friday, Dec. 13, in the Houston Harte University Center, 1910 Rosemont Drive.
The ceremony will begin at 4:30 p.m. in the University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center and is open free to the public.  Inductees will include both ASU students and local community nursing leaders.

To be eligible for membership, students must have completed at least half of the nursing curriculum in the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) or the RN-to-B.S.N. program, hold at least a 3.0 grade point average and rank in the top 35 percent of their class.  Community nursing leaders must hold at least a bachelor’s degree and a valid Texas nursing license, and must have demonstrated achievement in nursing.

This year’s ASU student inductees from the B.S.N. program are Jonathan Elkins of San Angelo, Katherine Esquivel of Ballinger, Yajaira Ramirez of Big Lake and Emily Snider of Wylie.  Student inductees from the RN-to-B.S.N. program are Amber Bagwell, Eliza Conomacos, Erin Doyle, Alexis Ivans and Melissa Malane of San Angelo, David Bushnell of New Braunfels, Adriana Martinez of Albany and Jodi Cunningham of Evans, Ga.

Community nursing leaders to be inducted this year are Janette Daily, Becky Fuentes, Dana Mantooth, Graciella Munoz and Dr. Wilma Powell-Stuart from Shannon Medical Center; Rachel Conover and Wanda Lange from Shannon Clinic; Mary Cobb Wilson from San Angelo Community Medical Center; Patti Richard from River Crest Hospital; and Holly White from Cook Children’s Healthcare System in Fort Worth.

Additionally, the ASU Nursing Honor Society is applying for chapter charter status with the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) honor society for nursing.  The only international nursing honor society, STTI includes 486 chapters in 90 countries.

For more information, contact Dr. Katie Artnak, ASU professor of nursing, at 325-942-2754.