Angelo State University honored its outstanding graduate students during the Graduate Research Symposium and Awards Ceremony on Monday, April 21, in the Houston Harte University Center.
The highlight of the evening was the announcement of this year’s distinguished graduate students from each of ASU’s four academic colleges by Dr. Susan Keith, College of Graduate Studies dean.  Honorees each received a recognition plaque.

The Distinguished Graduate Student honorees by major and college were:  Christopher A. Hernandez of San Angelo, security studies, College of Arts and Sciences; Thomas Horsley of Georgetown, Mass., biology, College of Arts and Sciences; Kimberly R. Nowell of Goldthwaite, integrated professional accountancy, College of Business; Suzanne M. Dusek of San Angelo, student development and leadership in higher education, College of Education;  and Joe Duerksen of Artesia, N.M., coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration, College of Health and Human Services.

The other nominees for the top awards were also recognized and awarded certificates.  They were Geneva Garza and Javier F. Medina of San Angelo, Jimena Lule of Fort Worth, Troy G. Tarpley of Fort Stockton, and Rebecca Valek of Ennis.

All ASU graduate students who have written or presented papers or won other awards were also recognized.

ASU Announces 2014 Top Graduates

 Sean Motl has been named recipient of Angelo State University’s 2014 Presidential Award as the top graduate in his class, while five other ASU undergraduate students have been selected for 2014 Distinguished Student Awards from their respective academic colleges.

A San Angelo native who graduated from Wall High School, Motl will be recognized at ASU’s May 10 commencement exercises along with the five Distinguished Student Award honorees.  The Distinguished Student Award recipients are:  Adrienna Bingham and Ashley Tanner, College of Arts and Sciences; Maxwell Kennady, College of Business; Nelson Thomas, College of Education; and Marisa Henderson, College of Health and Human Services.  Other nominees were Cody Brooks, Cayla Clinkenbeard, Lisa Dees, Mary Jones, Binhong Lin and Phylicia Ulibarri from the College of Arts and Sciences and Viraj Amin from the College of Business.

ASU’s Academic Excellence Committee will host a public awards ceremony and reception at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, April 28, in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center inside the Houston Harte University Center to honor the nominees and award recipients.  Each will be presented a plaque by Dr. Nancy Allen, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs.