Twenty-one Angelo State University employees have been nominated for the 2012-13 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding ASU faculty, staff and administrators.
Recipients of the Rodgers Distinguished Faculty, Distinguished Staff and Distinguished Administrator Awards will be announced by ASU President Brian J. May during a ceremony at 2 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 12, in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center.

Faculty nominees are Dr. Robert Ehlers, professor of security studies; Dr. Shirley Eoff, Honors Program director and professor of history; Dr. Teresa Hack, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. Carolyn Mason, associate professor of physical therapy; Dr. Janet Maxwell, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. Mary McGlamery, associate professor of curriculum and instruction; Corey Owens, instructor/research associate of agriculture; Dr. Daniel Simmons, assistant professor of communication; Dr. John “Trey” Smith, associate professor of mathematics; Dr. Kenneth Stewart, professor of sociology; and Dr. Deanna Watts, assistant professor of political science.

Staff nominees are Nancy Budewig, office coordinator, physical therapy; Suzanne Campbell, head, West Texas Collection; Suzie Dusek, academic advisor, business; Tom Nurre, news and information specialist, communications and marketing; Annette Roberts, office coordinator, agriculture; and Eldra Sanford, costumer, theatre.

Administrator nominees are Denise Brodnax, executive director and controller, Controller’s Office; Brandy Hawkins, director of budget policy planning, student affairs and enrollment management; Jeane Irby, director of strategic planning and communication, information technology; and Wendy Storms, director of educator support services, education.

The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards were created by San Angelo native and former Angelo State student Gary Rodgers and his wife, Pat.  Due to their association with many ASU employees over the years, the couple recognized the roles that faculty, staff and administrators perform to help ASU fulfill its mission to prepare students to be responsible and productive citizens.  The Rodgers established the awards and provided the $2,500 honorarium for each recipient.

Jamie Akin, executive director of development and alumni relations, said, “We are fortunate to have the generosity of Gary and Pat Rodgers to help recognize the importance of great faculty, staff and administrators at Angelo State.”

The winner of the Distinguished Administrator Award is chosen by an ad hoc committee of the ASU Faculty Senate and Staff Senate.  The faculty and staff award winners are chosen by the ASU Student Government Association.