Angelo State University’s chapter of the Alpha Chi national honor society inducted 39 new members during a special ceremony on Tuesday, April 8, in the Houston Harte University Center.
Alpha Chi is open to students majoring in any academic discipline and has over 300 chapters nationwide with more than 400,000 members.  To be eligible, students must rank in the top 10 percent of seniors at their college or university, or in the top 7.5 percent of juniors.

Spring 2014 ASU inductees to Alpha Chi by hometown and major were:

Annapolis, Md.: Jeffrey N. Cuddington, intelligence, security studies and analysis

Boerne: Corey R. Haas, animal science

Center Point: Amanda E. Weaver, biology

Christoval: Brittany P. Trubenstein, psychology

Cleburne: Phylicia D. Ulibarri, English

Clyde: Caston W. Hilcher, computer science

Dublin: Suzanna C. Tolboom, communication

El Paso: Natalie R. Alvarez, nursing

Fredericksburg: Kasey D. Nebgen, nursing

Glen Burnie, Md.: Brittany N. Dowd, nursing

Houston: Jason B. Island, border and homeland security

Kerrville: Corley C. Pruneda, biology

Marble Falls: Chelbee M Farnen, biology

McCluskey, N.D.: Lisa J. Myrice, accounting

Miles: Cadyn S. Heinze, independent studies

Monahans: Jordan N. Jernigan, independent studies

Odessa: Payton L. Hunter, athletic training

Ozona: Duncan M. Knox, history

Ranger: Kati L. Stewart, marketing

Rowena: Abbey M. Multer, biology

San Angelo: Viraj Amin, finance; Mary E. Collins, accounting; Stephen J. Gonzales, biology; Antoinette N. Guajardo, nursing; Chelsea D. Howard, nursing; Jason F. Livingstone, biology; Mark D. Montoya, management; Sydney D. Morris, English; Eduardo Navarro, marketing; Lacy M. Neuwirth, English; Alexandria L. Ramirez, studio art; Farrah L. Schalek, biology; and Joshua J. Sefcik, physics

San Antonio: Angelina Minnala, kinesiology

Sterling City: Jonathan H. Hughes, agribusiness

Throckmorton: Mikaela M. Stroud, nursing; and Craig D. Tipton, biology

Waxahachie: Haleigh D. Arent, animal science

Weatherford: Cheyenne N. Bone, animal science

Additionally, three ASU Alpha Chi members made research presentations at the annual Alpha Chi National Convention held March 27-29 in St. Louis, Mo.

Katlynn Cox, a junior animal science major from Weatherford, Morgan Ostwinkle an animal science graduate from Phoenix, Ariz., and Preston Wimberly, a senior political science major from Dallas, all presented their current research.  Ostwinkle was awarded a $200 scholarship from the ASU sponsors for best presentation by an ASU student.

ASU is located in Alpha Chi Region I, and Dr. Karl Havlak, professor of mathematics, is the head faculty advisor for the ASU chapter.  Additional faculty advisors are Dr. June Smith for the College of Arts and Sciences, Dr. Biqing Huang for the College of Business, Dr. Ann Bullion-Mears for the College of Education, and Paul Osmanski for the College of Health and Human Services.  Havlak is also secretary-treasurer for Region I and a member of the Alpha Chi National Council.

For more information, call Havlak at 325-486-5432.  More details on Alpha Chi are available online at