Angelo State University’s Mu Gamma chapter of the Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) international honor society for education inducted 63 new student members during its recent banquet and awards ceremony.

Danny Meyer Photographer

The chapter also honored Cathy Humble, an instructional coach with the San Angelo Independent School District, with the KDP Alumni Award, and honor cords were presented to 17 graduating KDP members by Dr. John Miazga, dean of the ASU College of Education.

The 2016 spring inductees from San Angelo are Haley Ashley, Kasandra Felipe, Amber Garza, Amanda Gibson, Verba Pape, Carey Peacock, Danielle Plecenik, Kayla Valdez, Brady Weber, Megan Yackley, and Leah Yargo.

Other inductees include Daniel Avila of Old Orchard Beach, Lauren Barber of Big Spring, Danielle Chatmon of Washington, D.C., Melondy Doddy of Fort Worth, Shannon Duffy of New Braunfels, Stephanie Fields of Aledo, Sonia Gamez of Odem, Angelica Garner of Cibolo, Danielle Gary of Leander, Mary Heryford of Seagraves, Gennie Jackson of Tulia, Tamla Littleton of Dallas, Linda McBride of Stephenville, Danielle McDonald of Angleton, Tanya McKinney of Waco, Daphne Molett-Riles of Fort Worth, Caitlyn Moore of Austin, Laura Mungia of Arlington, Julia Parker of Florence, Synquis Sanford-Lewis of Wichita Falls, Tiffany Strawn of Midland, Rachael Villanueva of Big Spring, Stephanie Vreeland of Arlington and Katrina Williams of Fort Worth.

Also, Tracy Avery of Odessa, Lela Brister of Abilene, Miranda Brooks of Ballinger, Brittany Bjugstad of Holly Place, Mackenzi Busby of Cisco, Melissa Chiles of Midland, Kristen Clady of Harker Heights, Kellie Elkins of Early, Amanda Gutz of Canyon Lake, Hannah Halfmann of Garden City, Hope Hicks of Seminole, Christine Hill of Cedar Park, Charly Holik of Miles, Kylee Jones of Waco, Amy Loftin of Midkiff, Candice Masar of Midland, Kalie McCrea of Miles, Frances McKissack of Eden, Sarah Orsini of Strawn, Judy Perez of San Antonio, Oscar “Adam” Sauceda of Hermleigh, Sarah Shirely of Seminole, Vannessa Villarreal of Brackettville, Elisabeth Wenzel of Winters, Marley Wiggins of Lampasas, Netasha Wilson of Winters and Megan Yourgalite of Sonora.

To qualify for KDP, undergraduate students must be at least a sophomore with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher in 50 or more hours of education courses. Graduate students can qualify with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher after a minimum of 12 hours of professional education courses.

KDP was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching. The national organization is composed of 600 chapters, and total international membership numbers more than 40,000.